Daiki Yasukagawa Trio: Trios II

Similar in concept to Ray Brown’s Some Of My Best Friends Are… album series in which the legendary bassist plays with assorted partners in jazz, bassist Daiki Yasukagawa’s release Trios II from 2015 features the bassist performing with four different trios assembled from multiple pianists and drummers. A followup to Yasukagawa’s Trios (2010), Trios II brings even more musicians into the recording studio and offers up a new album with the various trios performing 11 songs.

The pianists and drummers are all players who perform with the bassist on different albums and at live shows in Japan, and each member adds personal touches and dynamics to the combos. The majority of songs are originals from the bassist, with the balance being in favor of slower tempo ballads and relaxed moods built upon the bassist’s deep, weighty sound and timing. A few uptempo numbers are included, starting with the album opener West Side Story’s “Tonight” which kicks things off with a great swing beat, Yasukawaga’s own joyful “My Bebop Tune”, and an exuberantly wild “Circle III”.

In addition to providing a glimpse into the modern working trio in Tokyo’s current jazz scene, Trios II is also a great standalone package of jazz piano trios performing Yasukagawa’s music for a comfortable, mood-enhancing collection.

Leader: Daiki Yasukagawa · 安ヵ川大樹 · http://daikiyasukagawa.com/


  • Daiki Yasukagawa – bass
  • Taihei Asakawa- piano (#1, 2)
  • Hitomi Nishiyama – piano (#3, 4)
  • Naoko Tanaka – piano (#5, 6)
  • Mamoru Ishida – piano (#7, 8, 9, 10, 11)
  • Ryo Noritake – drums (#1, 2)
  • Yuto Hirase – drums (#3, 4)
  • Manabu Hashimoto – drums (#5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11)

Released in 2015 on D-Musica as DMCD-28.



* Audio clip at top of page from “Tonight”, the first track on this album.

* More samples from this album are available at: http://www.d-musica.co.jp/release/28.html and cdbaby.