Mabumi Yamaguchi: Let Your Mind Alone

The silvery tones of masterful jazz sax glide and soar through dynamically modern jazz on Mabumi Yamaguchi’s 2017 recording Let Your Mind Alone.

With eight original songs penned by Yamaguchi, the music is solid, confident, dramatic, and melodically entrancing. From the gripping opening track “Sequel To A Dream”, the songs flow with a fantastic balance of stimulation and control, offering various styles from peppy bossa rhythms, loose, modern swing, sweet ballads, and brightly positive tunes mixed with stimulating dark tinges.

Leader: Mabumi Yamaguchi · 山口 真文 ·


  • Mabumi Yamaguchi – Tenor & Soprano Sax
  • Yoshitaka Shoji – Guitar
  • Misato Okumura – Piano
  • Ryohei Komaki – Bass
  • Nobuyuki Komatsu – Drums

Released in 2017 on Spice of Life as SOLJP-0015.

* Audio sample at top of page from “Sequel To A Dream”, the opening track on this album.