Mie Joké: Etrenne

Jazz vocalist Mie Joké’s 2018 release Etrenne is a fun and fancy swing jazz outing, a fresh throwback to classic vocal jazz recordings. Like the best of jazz lover’s disks, this collection hits the mark with a great selection of familiar jazz standards performed with a loving touch.

Vocalist Joké purrs atop her jazz group with a confident grace, a breathy tank of soulful emotion and romance. Her solidly swinging jazz combos feature accomplished veteran musicians, with a different group performing for “Side A” and “Side B of the recording as if on a classic jazz vinyl LP.

The music is done right, with an honest, straight-ahead vision, swinging and sliding through jazz standards like “Cheek to Cheek”, “Fly Me To The Moon”, and “Caravan” with tender authenticity. Aside from jazz, a few bonus pop songs add to the variety with “Can’t Take My Eyes Off You” and “Still Crazy After All These Years.”

Leader: Mie Joké · 情家みえ · https://www.miejoke.com/

Members Side A (tr. 1-5):

  • Mie Joké – vocal
  • Tsuyoshi Yamamoto – piano
  • Hiroshi Kagawa – bass
  • Toshio Osumi – drums

Members Side B (tr. 6-11):

  • Mie Joké – vocal
  • Koji Goto – piano
  • Satsuki Kusui – bass
  • Akira Yamada – drums
  • Wataru Hamasaki – sax, flute

Released in 2018 on Ultra Art Record as UA-1001.



* Audio sample at top of page from “Cheek To Cheek”, the first track on this album.