Sachiko Ikuta Trio: Haru No Kaze

A jazz pianist who balances lyricism with boldness, Sachiko Ikuta leads a piano trio on Haru No Kaze (Spring Wind) from 2012. Legendary jazz trumpeter Terumasa Hino also joins on two songs, adding an adventurous spash of avante-garde improvisation to the album.

The nine tracks feature classic jazz standards, songs by Bills Evans and Thelonious Monk, two original compositions, and a charming reconstruction of “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” which swings gracefully. Ikuta even puts her well-rounded solo piano on display with a confident rendition of “Everything Happens To Me”, showcasing her dedication to the tradition of great jazz pianists.

Leader: Sachiko Ikuta · 生田さち子 ·


  • Sachiko Ikuta – piano
  • Hideaki Kanazawa – contrabass
  • Shun Ishiwaka – drums
  • Terumasa Hino – trumpet, cornet (tr. 3, 6)


Released in 2012 on Studio TLive Records XQHG-1007.

Here is a video showing a live performance of the trio performing the title track:


* Audio sample at top of page is from the opening of this album, the original composition “Haru No Kaze”.