Yuko Miyawaki: Song Of Flower

Japanese jazz musician Yuko Miyawaki’s debut album Song Of Flower from 2011 brims with understated calm, burning steadily through original, mellow sounds and sparkling improvisation. Miyawaki’s trumpet and flugelhorn centers her core jazz quartet, adding a fifth member on tenor sax to embellish her jazz themes with sweet harmonies and cutting solos on four tracks.

In addition to her compelling horn playing, Miyawaki’s contributions also include original songs and arrangements, all showing a creative style with modern themes calmly developing over sharp grooves with fascinating frameworks. The selected cover songs include a great modern jazz version of the Japanese folk song “Sakura”, the atmospheric latin tune “El Choclo”, “Summer Night” in uptempo swing, and a tender duo with guest pianist Junichiro Ohkuchi (joining on five songs) on the heartful ballad “I’m Glad There Is You”.

Leader: Yuko Miyawaki · 宮脇裕子 · https://yukomiyawaki.com/


  • Yuko Miyawaki – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Yutaka Handa – tenor sax
  • Taeko Kurita – piano
  • Yutaka Kaido – bass
  • Masashi Tomikawa – drums
  • Special Guest: Junichiro Ohkuchi – piano (#3, 5, 6, 8, 9)

Released in 2011 on Coume Music as DQC-614.



* Audio sample at top of page from “Sakura”, the first track on the album.